Keynote Session

Title of the talk:
To be announced soon...

Professor John L. Volakis 
Professor and Dean, Florida International University

To be announced soon...

Professor John L. Volakis (S’77–M’82–SM’89–F96) was born in Chios, Greece, on May 13, 1956 and immigrated to the USA in 1973. He received the B.E. degree (summa cum laude) from Youngstown State University, Youngstown, OH and the M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees from The Ohio State University, Columbus, in 1979 and 1982, respectively. He started his career at Rockwell International (1982–1984), now Boeing Phantom Works. In 1984, he was appointed Assistant Professor at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, becoming a full Professor in 1994. He also served as the Director of the Radiation Laboratory from 1998 to 2000. From Jan. 2003- Aug. 2017, he was the Roy and Lois Chope Chair Professor of Engineering at The Ohio State University and also served as the Director of the ElectroScience Laboratory (2003-2016). Since Aug . 2017, he is a Professor and Dean of Engineering and Computing at Florida International Univ. During his 35 years career, he has carried out research on antennas, medical sensing, computational methods, electromagnetic compatibility and interference, propagation, design optimization, RF materials and metamaterials, RFIDs, millimeter waves and terahertz, body-worn wireless technologies, and multi-physics engineering. His publications include 8 the books. Among them are: Approximate Boundary Conditions in Electromagnetics (IET, 1995), Finite Element Methods for Electromagnetics (Wiley–IEEE Press, 1998) the classic 4th ed. Antenna Engineering Handbook (McGraw–Hill, 2007), Small Antennas (McGraw–Hill, 2010), and Integral Equation Methods for Electromagnetics (SciTech, 2011)]. His papers include over 400 journal papers, nearly 800 conference papers, and 25 book chapters. He has also written several well-edited coursepacks, and has delivered short courses on antennas, numerical methods, and frequency selective surfaces.

2016: Ohio State Univ. Distinguished Scholar Award, top award given by Ohio State to a faculty member. Award video:
2016: Ohio State Univ. George Sinclair Award for “excellence in research, and his exemplary leadership of the ElectroScience Laboratory, including establishing new research areas in electromagnetic sensor technologies and securing a new ESL building.”
2014: IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Distinguished Award, 2014 (given to one individual annually from across the world). Award citation: “For game-changing contributions to computational electromagnetics, radar scattering and antennas, and for educational leadership and service to the electromagnetics community.”
2013: IEEE Rudolf Henning Distinguished Mentoring Award, 2013 (given to one individual annually)
2011: Fellow, Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society.
2011: IEEE Chen-To Tai Distinguished Education Award (given to one individual annually. Citation: For exemplary contributions as an inspiring teacher and mentor, and for advancing electromagnetic technology.
2010: Scott College of Engineering career award for teaching research and service, Ohio State Univ. Citation: For pioneering contributions in education, including authorship of important texts and excellent mentoring of students, in research, including seminal contributions to computational electromagnetics and antenna design, and for leadership and distinctive service to the engineering profession.
2006-2010: IEEE Distinguished Lecturer
2004: Listed by ISI among the top 250 most referenced authors
1996: Fellow of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)